
Marriage Licenses  

 

 

License Applications 

Marriage license applications may be submitted Monday through Friday between the hours of 8 a.m. 
and 4 p.m. 

 

License Fees 

The fee for marriage licenses will vary according to the following circumstances. If the applicants have 
completed a qualifying premarital education program, the marriage license fee is $26. Without 
certification of a premarital education program, the marriage license fee is $66. These fees include the 
cost of a certified copy of the completed license once the ceremony has been performed for proof of 
marriage. In some instances, other minor charges may apply. Probate Court accepts cash and money 
orders.  Credit Cards are accepted but a convenience fee is applied by the vendor.  

 

Identification for License Application 

Applicants must produce a valid Photo ID such as a Driver’s License, State ID Card, an Armed Forces ID 
Card or a Resident Alien ID Card.  Applicants are also required to produce a full size certified birth 
certificate.   

 

Other License Regulations 

If either applicant is a Georgia resident, the license may be purchased in any county in Georgia. If 
neither applicant is a resident of Georgia, the marriage license must be obtained in the county in which 
the marriage ceremony will be performed. The Georgia marriage license can only be used for marriage 
ceremonies that are performed in Georgia.  You must be at least 18 years of age to apply for a marriage 
license, except in certain special circumstances. Effective July 1, 2003, blood tests are no longer required 
for marriage license. 

 Both applicants must be present to obtain the license. Each person must also provide proper 
identification. 

 If either applicant has been previously married and divorced, a copy of the final divorce decree must be 
provided for the court's inspection. Make certain that it is the final divorce decree, not the agreement. 
The final divorce decree must be dated and signed by a judge. If either applicant has been married 



previously or the marriage was dissolved by death, please provide the death certificate. Both applicants 
must know their parents' full names and birthplaces. Full name for mother is her maiden (birth) last 
name. "Birthplace" means the city or county and state where each parent was born.  

 Georgia law requires each applicant to designate the legal surname he or she will use after marriage. 
The applicant may choose his or her present surname, his or her partner's surname, or a combination of 
the two.  

 

Application Submission Information 

The Application for Marriage License may be typed or neatly printed in black ink. The form may be 
printed and completed prior to arriving at the Probate Court or may be filled out on the day of applying. 
This form must be complete and legible. The marriage license is issued at the time of the application 
unless a problem arises. Probate Court processing typically takes 10-30 minutes, depending on the 
number of people waiting for assistance. After the license is issued, there is no waiting period before the 
marriage ceremony can take place.  The marriage license authorizes the officiant to perform the 
ceremony; the marriage certificate certifies that you are legally married. We will need a permanent 
address to which the marriage certificate will be mailed after your marriage information is recorded.  

 The application packet which contains the application for the marriage license as well as information on 
the application process, may be downloaded on this site or picked up at the Probate Court at any time 
between 8:00 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday (excluding holidays) and can be returned for 
processing between the hours of 8:00 a.m. and 4:00 p.m. We are sorry that we are not able to issue 
licenses after 4:00 p.m. 

 

Qualifying Premarital Education Program 

Under the law, a qualifying premarital education program shall include at least six hours of instruction 
involving marital issues, which may include but not be limited to conflict management, communication 
skills, financial responsibilities, child and parenting responsibilities, and extended family roles. The 
program must have been completed within the 12 months prior to the application, and the applicants 
must have undergone the premarital education together. To qualify, the premarital education must 
have been performed by a professional counselor, social worker, or marriage and family therapist; a 
psychiatrist; a psychologist; or an active member of the clergy when in the course of his or her service as 
clergy, or the designee of such active member of the clergy, provided the designee is skilled and trained 
in premarital education. 

 



 In order to qualify for the reduced fee, the applicants must provide the court a signed and dated 
certificate of completion of a qualifying premarital education program. A Certificate of Completion of 
Qualifying Premarital Education can be picked up at the Probate Court or downloaded here. 

 

Special Circumstances  
 
 
Age Requirement 
A minor person 16 or 17 years of age may receive a marriage license if both of the minor's parents 
residing in the household, or the parent with custody if the parents are legally separated or divorced, 
give written consent to the minor's marriage in person at the time of the application. 
   
Underage Marriages 
Effective July 1, 2006, minors under the age of 16 will no longer be allowed to marry under any 
circumstances, even if the bride is pregnant or the applicants are the parents of a child born out of 
wedlock 
 

  

 

 

  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


