
FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS 
 

1.  Who can register to vote in the state of Georgia? 
To register to vote you must be: 
• A citizen of the United States. 
• A legal resident of Georgia and of the county in which you wish to vote. 
• At least 17 1/2 years of age to register and 18 to vote. 
You may NOT register to vote if you are currently: 
• Serving any sentence imposed by the conviction of a felony. 
• Judicially determined to be mentally incompetent.  

 
2.  Am I registered or how do I register to vote? 
How to Register to Vote 
Note: Voter registration is a county function. Georgia counties issue precinct cards after reviewing and processing 
applications.  

 
You may confirm your voter registration status through MVP. If you have submitted a voter registration application 
within the prior three to four weeks and your name does not appear, please contact your local county elections and 
registration office to check the status of your application. 

 
Georgia citizens have access to several convenient methods of registering to vote: 
• Download, complete, and mail a voter registration application or Download the Georgia Votes App on your 

smartphone to register to vote. 
• Contact your local county elections and registration office, public library, public assistance office, recruitment 

office, schools and other government offices for a mail-in registration form.  
• Registration is offered when you renew or apply for your driver's license at Department of Drivers Services 

license posts.  
• College students can obtain Georgia voter registration forms, or the necessary forms to register in any state in 

the U.S., from their school registrar's office or from the office of the Vice President of Academic Affairs. 
 
Change of Residence  
Voters are required to notify the board of registrars of their county of residence whenever they move. 

 
• If you move within the same county in which you are registered to vote and don't notify the registrar at least 30 

days prior to an election, you may vote in your old polling place for that election. You must file a notice of your 
new address.  This can be done by writing to your  local elections and registration office, or by submitting a new 
voter registration application. 

• If you move outside the county in which you are registered to vote within 30 days of an election, you may vote 
in your old precinct for that election.  

• If you move outside the county in which you are registered to vote in excess of 30 days prior to an election, you 
have lost your eligibility to vote in the county of your old residence. You must register to vote in your new 
county of residence. You will be assigned a new voting precinct and polling location. Remember, if you don't 
register to vote by the deadline, you cannot vote in that particular election. 

 
Precinct Cards 
If you have misplaced or have not received your precinct card within three to four weeks of submitting your voter 
registration application, please contact your local county registration office to request a new precinct card or to 
check the status of your application. You may also check whether you are registered through MVP.  
For more information contact: 

        Secretary of State 
        Elections Division 
        802 Floyd West Tower 

http://sos.ga.gov/index.php/elections/faq
http://sos.ga.gov/index.php/elections/faq
http://sos.ga.gov/MVP
http://sos.georgia.gov/cgi-bin/countyregistrarsindex.asp
http://sos.georgia.gov/cgi-bin/countyregistrarsindex.asp
http://sos.georgia.gov/elections/vrinfo.htm
http://sos.georgia.gov/cgi-bin/countyregistrarsindex.asp
http://sos.georgia.gov/elections/vrinfo.htm
http://sos.georgia.gov/cgi-bin/countyregistrarsindex.asp
http://sos.ga.gov/MVP


        2 Martin Luther King Jr. Dr. SE 
        Atlanta, Ga. 30334 
        (404) 656-2871 
        404-656-1787 (TDD for the hearing or speech impaired) 
 

3. Are sample ballots available prior to the election? 
Yes. Sample Ballots (PDF) are available through your county or municipal registrar's office, as well as the Secretary of 
State. Voters are authorized to carry a sample ballot or list of selected candidates with them to the polls to aid them 
in voting their ballot. You may not share the sample ballot or candidate list with other voters at the polls, but you 
may use it for your benefit.  

 
4. When is the best time to go to the polls to avoid having to wait in long lines? 
Peak voting hours appear to be from 7 a.m. until 9:30 a.m. as well as 4:30 p.m. until 7:00 pm, and during the mid-
day lunch hour. View the Voting Locations Map to find out where the voting precincts are located.  

 
5. Is my employer required to grant me time off to vote? 
Yes, Georgia law requires employers to grant their workers up to 2 hours to vote on the day of an election. However, 
the employer is authorized to specify the hours which an employee may use. This provision does not apply to 
employees whose hours of work begin at least 2 hours after the polls open or end at least 2 hours before the polls 
close. There is no obligation for an employer to pay the employee for the time taken to vote.  

 
6. What happens if I don't have any identification with me at the polling place? 
If an elector is unable to produce any of the 6 forms of identification at the time of voting, the elector shall vote a 
Provisional Ballot. Upon submitting a copy of the identification to the Elections and Registration Office within 48 
hours of voting, the ballot is counted. The elector will be notified by letter if the ballot is counted.  

 
7. May I receive assistance in casting my ballot? 
A voter may receive assistance at the polls if they are unable to read the English language or if he or she has a 
physical disability that renders them unable to see or mark the ballot, operate the voting equipment, or enter the 
voting booth. In order to do so, everyone, except those that are blind, must take an oath showing the reason they 
need assistance. The person providing the assistance to the voter must sign on the oath. 
 
When there is a federal candidate on the ballot, the voter can select anyone they want to assist them in voting, 
except for the voter's employer, an agent of that employer, or an officer or agent of the voter's union. When there is 
no federal candidate on the ballot, the voter can select any other resident of the precinct or a parent, sibling, spouse 
or child to assist them inside the voting booth. No person may assist more than 10 voters in a primary, election, or 
runoff. 
 
Note: Between the hours of 9:30 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. on the day of an election, voters who are 75 years of age or 
older or who are physically disabled may, upon request to a poll officer, vote immediately without waiting in line.  

 
8. May I take my child to the polls with me? 
Children under the age of 18 may accompany a parent into the voting booth. However, they may not be disruptive 
or interfere with the voting process nor may they vote the ballot or operate any function of a vote recorder or voting 
machine.  

 
9. Can I wear a campaign button into the polling place? 
No person may campaign (distribute literature of written or printed matter of any kin or wear campaign buttons, 
signs, pins, stickers, T-shirts, etc), circulate petitions, or perform similar activities within 150 feet of the building in 
which a polling place is located.  
 

10. Am I required to show identification when I vote? When you vote in person, you must show identification. View the 
Voter ID Requirements page for more information.  

http://hallcounty.org/DocumentCenter/View/262
http://www.hallcounty.org/elections/elections_googlemap.asp
http://hallcounty.org/259/Voting-ID-Requirements

